Pumpkins by Edmond Gray

Several years ago I had the pleasure of becoming acquainted with a wonderful artist Edmond Gray. We would often have long conversations about art, history, music, and politics, discussing different oil painting techniques and sharing our portfolios with each other. Around halloween one year, Ed gave me several photographs of pumpkins he painted, which he called “Pumpkids.” Each year Ed would paint a pumpkin for his daughter and even had an article in the newspaper showcasing some of his designs. He would often say to me if you ever get the chance to talk about us local artists remember me. Even though this post doesn’t exhibit his wonderful paintings it shows the fun side of Edmond’s art and what entertaining things you can do around Halloween!  I would like to dedicate this post to you Ed, I miss those long conversations!

Warning some images may be gruesome!


Happy Halloween!

Comments
3 Responses to “Pumpkins by Edmond Gray”
  1. vintagejenta says:

    Oooh! Creepy! I like the eyeball ones the best. I was sadly remiss this Halloween. And the whole fall. No apple picking, no pumpkin buying or carving, no getting dressed up for Halloween. Did burn lots of candles though, due to the power outage.

    Anywho – great art! And a fitting end to Halloween.

  2. Thank you Irma for posting these 🙂 Ed was my Dad and when I found these online I was ecstatic! I have the rest of his artwork in my home and it’s like visiting with him every day. He is very missed.

    Jenn Gray

  3. Irma Elaine says:

    Wow, how exciting Jenn! Your words are so touching, your dad was a great guy and I am sorry for your loss. It is so amazing that people can live on through their artwork. Your dad would often talk about you and your mom. One funny thing I remember him saying once was he never needed an alarm clock 🙂
    I would be happy to send the photographs to you if you’d like or send you scans? Please let me know, you can e-mail me at farmhousemag(at)gmail(dot)com.

    Best, Ashley (Irma Elaine)

Leave a comment