Life Bubbling Up & Spilling Over

Sarah just wrote about “Cooking for Real Life,” and talked about why she hasn’t posted on FarmHouse in some while. My hiatus is because my family and friend constellation has been expanding and humming like mad. My stepdaughter had a baby three months ago and it’s thrilling to be involved in his/their lives. There is nothing like a baby to enhance, smooth, and deepen family interactions. On our most recent visit, my husband grabbed the baby and we both started speaking jibberish and acting like fools. To see my husband in the new grandfather role is delightful, just as it’s been a delight to see the affection between him and his daughter. I’ve always wished I was closer with my Dad. They are lucky, and I’m lucky to soak up the easy warmth emanating from them when they are together.

Image

My husband and I adopted two more house bunnies. The second bun was supposed to be a play pal for the first one, but the first one is non-compliant. So of course I had to get a third bun to be pals with the second bun. Official introductions haven’t begun just yet — bun #3 has to recover fully from his neutering. You want the testosterone to dissipate before you try to bond them as hoped-for lifelong friends. House bunnies have only been a part of my life for just over two years. The experience of having bunnies in my living space, being able to dote on them and pet them and watch their myriad hilarious antics and endless cuteness has been joyful. It has helped heal childhood disappointment with bunnies that my family really didn’t know how to properly care for. They were pet store bunnies and they were mean and bitey and just wanted to escape. But it really wasn’t their fault – Fudgie and Thumper came from a disreputable source and then my well-meaning suburban family did everything wrong. Butter, Dani, and Graham have been little healers, no joke.

Image Dani (second bun)

ImageGraham (most recent addition)

ImageButter (original bun)

Life has also been abundant in my no-till vegetable garden in the New Paltz Gardens for Nutrition. The alluvial soil there is so rich and friable, tilling is sooo not necessary, yet all around in the spring, tillers are firing up, polluting,  and ruining soil structure. You can see my article about no-till here. Here’s a pic my photographer/friend Larry Decker took. This is the finest vegetable garden I’ve ever had. No-till has been a huge part of that. Vibrating life!

Image

Leave a Reply

