Hibachi rice

Cooking hibatchi Rice

Growing up on a farm we ate a lot of meat and potatoes, but once I went to college I began to expand my palate with foods I had never heard of before, such as knishes, chicken francese, and Japanese food like Hibatchi rice. Hibatchi rice is one of my favor things to eat, I first ate it at Gasho Japanese restaurant. Gashos is a great place to eat but I love being able to make hibatchi rice at home, now I can do so with this recipe. Granted it isn’t the same experience as eating out, but it is still really good.

P.S. I still prefer meat and potatoes over most things!

Hibatchi rice detail

Hibachi rice

  • 1 cup rice
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup onion, chopped (optional)
  • 1/4 cup peas and carrots, frozen or fresh
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 teaspoon sesame seeds

Cook rice, set aside. Sauté onion, peas and carrots in olive oil in large pan for about 3-5 minutes. I usually use frozen peas and fresh carrots. Next scramble the eggs with small amount of butter, this can be done in another pan or the vegetables can be pushed to the side of the pan. Once the eggs are cooked, add in 1 tablespoon butter and rice, mix together and cook for 5 minutes. Add soy sauce and sesame seeds, cook for an additional minute. Serve hot.

DOWNLOAD the recipe for Hibatchi Rice here.

Comments
One Response to “Hibachi rice”
  1. Sara says:

    This is a defn must try recipe!
    Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

