Chocolate Chip Cookies

My cookie jar and yummy chocolate chip cookies

Cookies…yum! For me, there are certain foods that have memories attached to them, and this chocolate chip cookie recipe is one. My mom, has this recipe memorized by heart, enough said right. She can whip up a batch in a matter of minutes with hardly using any measuring cups, which I have yet to accomplish, I measure everything!

Many of my memories from this cookie recipe is about helping my mom bake a batch, learning how to crack eggs, running to my grandma’s house when we didn’t have a certain ingredient, and giving the stirring up to my mom when it got too hard! This recipe makes me miss being home on the farm, but grateful at the same time for having these memories and being able to enjoy these tasty cookies when they come out of the oven! Even though they are never the same as my mom’s!

I also remember making a batch before school, when we had a 2 hour snow delay. Cookies always seem to put a smile on someone’s face, especially when you almost got the school day off.

Chocolate Chip cookies

Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 2/3 cups shortening
  • 2/3 cups butter (soft)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 3 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt (optional)
  • 1 cup +/- Semisweet chocolate chips or white chocolate chips
  • Nuts (walnuts, almonds or pecans) (optional)

Heat oven to 375 degrees.

In large mixing bowl cream together shortening, butter and sugars. Add eggs and vanilla, stir until smooth. In medium mixing bowl mix together flour, baking soda and salt. Stir flour mixture into the sugar mixture using a large spoon. Add in chocolate chips and nuts, if desired. Stir. Drop a spoonful of cookie mixture onto ungreased cookie sheet about 2 inches apart. If you like smaller cookies or larger, adjust your spoonful!

Bake at 375 about 10 to 12 minutes, or until golden brown unless you like crunchy cookies. Cool on wire rack or wax paper.

Store cookies in cookie jar or Tupperware. I usually keep a piece of bread in with my cookies to keep them soft.

DOWNLOAD the Chocolate Chip cookie recipe here and print on a 4×6 index card! Chocolate Chip Cookies

~

There are many other foods that I have memories attached to, do you? Or am I the only one? We would love to hear from you, write us at farmhousemag(at)gmail(dot)com or comment below.

Comments
3 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookies”
  1. Susan Stessin says:

    Loved hearing your stories about the cookies, Irma. My mom didn’t bake a lot, so I don’t have too many food memories. I do have a favorite recipe for corn bread that I will share. It is the best cornbread, low fat, too! ~Susan

  2. vintagejenta says:

    Yum! Ashley, these look fantastic! What kind of shortening to do you use? My favorite cookies often contain it but I’m often loathe to use it.

  3. Tereneh says:

    It is too hot to bake in Malaysia!!! These look yummy.

Leave a Reply

