Celebrating Reuse at the Pittsburgh Center for Creative Reuse

It all started with a 7” inch white zipper.  I could not find it at the national big box sewing and crafts store.  So I did what anyone would do in that situation.  I googled it.

Among the list of usual suspects, was the name Center for Creative Reuse.  There was an invitation to joy in the name and the prospect of what I would find in such a place.  So I went the very next day and I was not disappointed.

You know the phrase “Like a kid in a candy store?”  Well that is exactly how I felt.  I was even a bit overwhelmed like walking into a crafters, designers, DIY’ers, artists own Willy Wonka Chocolate Factory.  I found the zipper, some thread, a map of India, a cool photograph…I found more, much more, but as I said to Erika at the desk “I am trying to be calm, it’s my first time here.”


I can’t do a proper list, an inventory of what you can find at the Center for Creative Reuse, my guess is if you want it, they will have it.  What is even better though, for me is how the place fuels the creative process.  What I mean is, when you are working on a project you may have an idea in your head for what you want to do and the materials you need.  So you, like I did for the zipper, go out to find something that meets those requirements.  But another experience, perhaps even better, is when you discover material that sparks a new idea.  Something you never thought of before.  That is what the Center for Creative Reuse does, it did for me.

CCRcollage  (click on link, please do, thanks.)

Being Green, recycling, upcycling, sustainable, is something beyond trend it really is the way we need to think.

Not every item you use to create something needs to be reused, recycled or upcycled, but if even it just a portion of the project is, that is something that is simply wonderful for you, your wallet, the environment and for amazing organizations like the Center for Creative Reuse.

I already have in my mind my next trip, taking even longer to look around and if a couple of the things I didn’t buy are still there, to bag those puppies and get started on a new project.

The background and history of the place is here. Take a look and also see if there is a similar place where you live, there just may be, or you could start your own.

I am reminded of a line from the film Breakfast at Tiffany’s when Holly Golightly says “Now do you see why I love Tiffany’s?  Nothing bad can ever happen to you here.”  I would say for me that place is the Center for Creative Reuse and add only good things can happen there.

Enjoy

Comments
7 Responses to “Celebrating Reuse at the Pittsburgh Center for Creative Reuse”
  1. I have been there! I agree! And I am planning to send some more of the contents of my storage room to find their way into re-use. Thanks for the great article.

  2. idiaDega says:

    Thanks so much Janice. Maybe I’ll end up buying something of yours. Enjoy.

  3. vintagejenta says:

    It is probably a good thing that this place is nowhere near where I live. Or my craft room would soon be very… VERY… full.

    Let us know if you do any projects with stuff you get from there!

  4. idiaDega says:

    Sarah: will do! Need to photo the white pants I finished today. Also have a couple other things down the pipeline. It is a dangerous place but in a very good way. The prices are great and the selection. Michelle: this place is so very cool. I just love it! Thanks for the comments.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Celebrating Reuse at the Pittsburgh Center for Creative Reuse … I could not find it at the national big box sewing and crafts store. So I did what anyone would do in that situation. I googled it. Among the list of usual suspects, was the name Center for Creative Reuse. Source: farmhousemagazine.wordpress.com […]

  2. […] perfect 2 yards of perfect black cotton fabric from Center of Creative Reuse.  This is the blouse in progress, the sleeve.  The finished top and more come […]



Leave a Reply

