Wildflower of the Week: Gill-over-the-ground

Also known as creeping charlie or ground ivy, this little plant has bell-shaped flowers that flare at the ends and are generally purple or violet in color. The leaves are kidney-shaped or rounded and range in color from medium green to a dull, reddish-green.

These pretty little flowers can be found along roadsides, on lawns, and in shaded areas in the woods. Gill-over-the-ground is an alien in North America as it was introduced by European settlers. It is a member of the mint family. Although I don’t know if it smells like mint – I will have to take a sniff next time I see one on my walk!

***UPDATE***

So, apparently I have a gift for preempting trends? Because one of my favorite food blogs – TheKitchn.com, just posted a little article on ground ivy – apparently it is edible! Check out the article.

Comments
4 Responses to “Wildflower of the Week: Gill-over-the-ground”
  1. Scott says:

    One of my favorites. I like to call it “hedgemaids”. And, yes, it does smell like mint — especially if you mow it.

  2. I thought of it as a weed, but a weed is simply a plant out of place, and now I better appreciate this little edible!

Leave a Reply

