Natural Beauties

Up-close

Trees and plants surround us, with distinct smells, colors, leaves and blossoms’ capturing them in their exact form is almost impossible. Each year we anxiously await those natural beauties and amazingly before our eyes the landscape begins to change and colors surround us. However, trees and plants go in and out of blossom so fast sometimes you don’t even have time to enjoy them before they are gone! Thankfully there are many different ways we can appreciate these wonders throughout the seasons. Before you continue reading though, go out and pick yourself a beautiful bouquet! Use this recipe to make your cut bouquet last longer.

Add together, 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice, 1 tablespoon sugar, ½ teaspoon bleach and 1 quart (4 cups) water.

Now that you have these lovely blooms in your life, here is one of the easiest ways to preserve them.

Hollyhocks by the milk house.

Even though you can’t capture those natural beauties in their exact form you can come pretty close with digital photographs. Digital cameras are amazing! I think most of us miss that surprise element we used to get when picking up our developed photographs from the store, but now we have the capability to digitally edit our images and delete the not so good ones. Digital cameras also allow us to take as many pictures as we want with different angles, views, panorama or my favorite macroscopic. If you aren’t familiar with the flower symbol on your camera, play around with it and see how close you can get to the inside of a blooming flower.

Garden strawberries ready to be frozen.

Black raspberries.

The flower symbol or macro on your camera allows you to get about 2 inches away from an object. It is important to stay very still, try holding your camera with both hands and leaning on your elbow. I often find myself holding my breath before I take a shot.

Blueberries.

My first camera was a single lens reflex (SLR) Minolta that I received from my mom for high school graduation and the macro setting was amazing! To set the macro setting I had to slide over a little button, which would allow me to get extremely close and still be in focus, mainly because it was manual. My new digital camera, Kodak EasyShare, doesn’t have the luxury of manual focusing when using the macro setting, but it still allows you to get close and the best part is being able to zoom in on my computer and print images when I want. My camera also has a flower setting, but I find that the macro does a better job when I want to get close up.  Most of the camera manuals don’t go into a lot of detail about how to use these settings, the best way is to experiment! All the photographs were taken with my Kodak, after trail and error.

Phlox

When you go outside you will be amazed on all the different natural beauties you will notice! Digital photographs aren’t the only way to enjoy those stunning trees and plants though, follow along with us, as we talk about drying, impressions, painting and drawing and other ways to create inspiring artwork.

Be inspired see the links:

Dean Malaxos

Steven Bart

If you take any particularly lovely photographs, send them in and we’ll post them in the next issue. Be sure to include a paragraph or two with your photo.

Paper birch tree.

 

[Editor: Amanda sent in this gorgeous photo in response to this article.]

Comments
5 Responses to “Natural Beauties”
  1. Sara says:

    It would be nice to have captions with each photograph identifying the flower or plant.

    • Irma Elaine says:

      That is a great idea and easy enough to change. I do not know what the first flower photograph is though, I was thinking it is a gladiolus, any thoughts?

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Amanda sent in this gorgeous photo in response to our Natural Beauties article.] Hello! I’m Amanda Jones from Dolgeville, NY and I’ve always loved taking pictures […]

  2. […] gifts you can make. You can bake gifts, such as cookies, brownies or bread. You can print your photographs into cards, frame your images, or create a photobook. You can knit, crochet, sew, weave, the […]

  3. […] isn’t it! Every time I walk into a field or woods, I always see something that puzzles me, inspiring or makes me want to learn more! Have you ever seen a beaver? Or their lodges, dens or dams? We […]



Leave a Reply

