5 Ways to cook you $5 Chicken in 5 Days…Day 3: Spicy Chicken Salad

Day 3 – Spicy Chicken Salad

 A continuation of my 5 Ways to cook you $5 Chicken in 5 Days…

Spicy Chicken Salad

I love Thai Salads, all of them Yum Yum, yes yummy!  So I decided to try to make a version of it with my good ole trusty rotisserie chicken.  And this is what I came up with:

  • Slices of white meat – long and thin if you can get it, or just in chunks
  • Pepper and salt if you would like
  • Olive oil
  • Lime
  • Mixed salad greens I also like spinach and/or arugula
  • Jalapeño peppers
  • Red chilies
  • Red Onions 1/3-1/2 of a small onion or to your taste.  Cut up some to sauté with chicken the other for the salad I like to have round slices
  • Cilantro

 I like to warm up the chicken a bit first and grill half of the onions.  Sauté the onions in oil first then add the chicken, after it warms I bit I like to squeeze in lime juice.

While this is warming or when it is done (don’t want to lose track and burn it) I make the green mix.  Cut the salad green to small pieces, makes it easier to eat I think. 

Then slice up your peppers and chilies.  Now I like to add the pepper here too, if your adding salt go for it now.  Then I add the red onions and lime juice, toss away.

 Then I add the warmed chicken and onion mixture, toss again.  Top it all off with cilantro and yes another squeeze of lime, if you like.  That’s it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

